Wednesday, June 3, 2009

If You Love 'The Dragon of Trelian', then check out some of these goodies...

Fond of Dragons like Jakl in The Dragon of Trelian?  

Below you'll find a list of some other children's books that feature the fun creatures, for better or for worse.


First off, readers may love Robin McKinley’s The Blue Sword and The Hero and the Crown.

I LOVED these books when I was in the fifth grade. While I felt the start of both of the books were slow, once I was immersed I wanted to become a dragonslayer. At the very least, I wanted a sequel to the series.

More recently, McKinley has published Dragonhaven. (Which I'll admit, I haven't gotten to read's in the stack...)

Word on the cover is that this book is about Jake, who lives with his father the Smokehill National Park, where they watch over the two hundred remaining dragons and protect them from extinction.

Another classic look at dragons comes from one of the kings of fantasy, J.R.R. Tolkien.  

When the Wizard Gandolf arrives, he insists that Bilbo Baggins go off with him on an important quest. Despite loving to stay at home, Bilbo goes. A certain dragon enters into the climax of The Hobbit and is truly a creature to be feared.

Also, in case you hadn't heard, a new movie version is underway for 2012.


For a more positive look at dragons, check out Christopher Paolini's Inheritance Cycle. (The first book, Eragon, was made into a movie a few years ago) The series kicks off with Eragon, a teenage boy discovering that he is a Dragon Rider and must go off on a quest of his own.


Want something for a younger reader? The classic The Paper Bag Princess is a picturebook, a parody and a wonderful example of early feminist children's literature.

When a dragon steals Prince Ron away, Princess Elizabeth, who was left in the rubble of her destroyed castle, must venture forth to save her prince.

Like the concept of touch young girls dealing with huge, tough dragons? It's a story type that's become quite popular (and could be worthy of some literary analysis. To contribute to your study, you can check out Dealing with Dragons, which kicks off the Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede.

Can you think of some more children's books that feature dragons?  

Feel free to add to this list in the comments section.


For more information on Michelle Knudsen, her works, or The Dragon of Trelian, check out the blogs below:

A Christian Worldview of Fiction, Abby the Librarian, All About Children’s Books, Becky’s Book Reviews, Cafe of Dreams, Dolce Bellezza, Homeschool Book Buzz,, Novel Teen, Reading is My Superpower, Reading to Know, Small World Reads, The 160 Acrewoods, Through a Child’s Eye, Through the Looking Glass Reviews

1 comment:

  1. Oooh, Lawrence Yep's 'Dragon' series, definitely -- Dragon of the Lost Sea, Dragon Steel, Dragon Cauldron, Dragon War...

    Not only did I love them as a child, but I remember them making me wish I had a monkey tail. Good times.



Related Posts with Thumbnails